Make vfio MSI interrupt be non-threaded. 28/1228/5
authorYunhong Jiang <yunhong.jiang@intel.com>
Tue, 18 Aug 2015 18:27:04 +0000 (11:27 -0700)
committerYunhong Jiang <yunhong.jiang@linux.intel.com>
Wed, 25 Nov 2015 00:17:35 +0000 (16:17 -0800)
commita233b3fef0ef0048071145eb233becffbdf96d0f
tree22469d010e89674d1ac4ec9df0eebe1e1b28de8c
parent6744cd0d1d2faad4e7b345563b91888d32db221e
Make vfio MSI interrupt be non-threaded.

Currently the vfio msi interrupt is kept as IRQ thread, this is not good
for NFV scenerio because in NFV scenerio, we want to inject the interrupt
to the guest asap. A threaded IRQ introduces schedule latency.

However, this change is like a quick and dirty and may bring
potential deadlock, because the spinlock_irqsave() from eventfd_signal()
is preemptible in RT kernel, which should not be held on IRQ context. But
changing it to be raw_spinlock is bad because it will increase the latency
a lot if the eventfd is accessed by user space.

The deadlock should be ok since for vfio MSI handler is purely kernel story
and the lock is a per-eventfd lock and seems no one else is using it for the
vfio msi scenario.

Upstream status: discussion https://lkml.org/lkml/2015/10/26/764

Change-Id: Ie4405a5b568aa75ca8c3481eeeea228a486b9794
kernel/drivers/vfio/pci/vfio_pci_intrs.c

© 2018 OPNFV. Copyright © The Linux Foundation ®. All Rights Reserved.
The Linux Foundation has registered trademarks and uses trademarks.
For a list of trademarks of The Linux Foundation, please see our Trademark Usage page.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds.
Privacy Policy and Terms of Use